800 222 8711 Contact Us Join Mail List Secure Mail Submit a Claim
Search magnifying glass icon
01

Anyone driving in Vermont needs to be aware that as of October 1, 2014, use of a cell phone while driving is banned. It is now illegal to use a cell phone or electronic device unless the device can be used hands-free. 

There is no grace period. Fines are $100-$200 for a first violation and $250-$500 for any subsequent violation within a two-year period. Police may cite a driver without any other traffic offense taking place. 

Vermont is the 13th state to ban all drivers from using hand-held cell phones. Other states are California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Washington and West Virginia. New Hampshire is scheduled to implement a ban in July 2015. In addition, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and Guam have also banned all hand-held use. 

Massachusetts currently prohibits drivers under age 18 from cell phone use while driving. 

More information on the issue of cell phone use while driving: 

> Vermont drivers warned of Oct. 1 cell law 

> Is hands-free cell phone use safe?  


Post Rating

Comments

There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

CAPTCHA image
Enter the code shown above:

 

The information provided in these articles are only general descriptions and should not be relied upon as complete, correct or accurate for your specific situation. All coverage informaiton is subject to policy provisions, endorsements and may be  subject to your meeting underwriting qualifications. Murphy Insurance Agency is not engaged in rendering legal, accounting or other noninsurance professional services. Consult an appropriate professional for advice regarding your own situation.